Permits and Regulations


Building permit, renovation and other work

You plan to do work, renovate, build or even demolish your building!

Before you begin, check with the Municipal Building and Environmental Officer, because obtaining a permit is mandatory for all construction, renovation, septic installation and water abstraction work.

To consult the Municipal Planning by-laws, go to the Coaticook MRC Website.

Regulation – Town Planning (French document)


Hameau-de-Way’s Mills Heritage Site

The Municipality has adopted a by-law preserving the heritage character of the hamlet of Way’s Mills, by-law number 216 – By-law establishing the Hameau-de-Way’s Mills Heritage Site.

View Regulation View the map (French document)


A practical guide for the renovation of old residential buildings

Specialists prepared this guide designed to help you, especially if you want to work on an old residential building. The guide will help you identify the main elements of traditional architecture found in your building. You will also find advice on the techniques and practices that are desirable to respect during renovation, addition of decorative elements, or expansions. The guide is made up of 12 sheets that cover issues such as the choice of doors and windows, roofing work and enlargements. It will even suggest some colour choices.  

View the guide (French document)


Guide to good practice in agricultural heritage

This guide focuses exclusively on farm buildings, their shape, location and use. These are often examples that you will have recognized at random from your walks on our roads and paths. Once again, we invite you to consult the 12 advisory sheets which are full of advice on the choice of roofs, covering materials, renovation of campaniles or silos.

View the guide (French document)


Dog License

If you have one or more dogs, a license is mandatory and renewable annually. However,  BEWARE! It is the responsibility of every citizen to inform the Municipal office if you own a dog or dogs, and you must notify the Municipal office if there are any changes during the year.

A license for a dog costs $10. Once your dog is registered, the cost of the permit will appear on your Municipal tax bill annually.

By-law number 163 concerning animals contains rules for dogs.

Regulation - animals (French document)


Open Fire

Throughout the Municipality, you must have a permit before lighting an open fire on your property. The Municipal Inspector issues a FREE license. The latter is in close contact with the Fire Department and is familiar with the guidelines of the Forest Fire Protection Society (SOPFEU).

Obtaining or not obtaining your open fire permit could have a significant impact on establishing your liability in the event of an uncontrolled fire.

Please contact the Municipal Inspector, Claude Lachapelle, to obtain the permit. You can reach the Municipal Inspector by contacting the office reception (819-838-4334) or directly at 819-578-6171.


Regulation of Nuisances

By-law number 208 was adopted to ensure peace, order, general well-being and to improve the quality of life of the citizens of the Municipality of Barnston-Ouest.

Regulation - Nuisance (French document)


Fire Department Recommendations

Please note that you must always clear the entrance of your residence (permanent or summer) over width and height of 3.6 meters (12 feet) minimum, and this to meet the requirements of the fire department. Also, no barrier or fence should obstruct the passage in case firefighters must go to the scene.

911 (French document)


Trees Along Municipal Roads

Throughout the Municipality, you are responsible for checking the health of the trees on your property that border Municipal roads and for carrying out the necessary work. Besides, if you are an owner in the Hameau-de-Way’s Mills Heritage Site area and wish to cut a tree, you MUST inform the Municipal Building and Environmental Officer before doing the work.

Heritage Site area

Permis et règlements


Permis de construction, rénovation et autres travaux

Vous prévoyez faire des travaux, rénover, construire ou même démolir votre bâtiment !

Avant de commencer, renseignez-vous auprès de l’officier municipal en bâtiment et environnement, car l’obtention d’un permis est obligatoire pour tous travaux de construction, rénovation, installation septique et captage d’eau.

Pour consulter les règlements d’urbanisme de la municipalité, rendez-vous sur le site Internet de la MRC de Coaticook.

Règlements - Urbanisme


Site du patrimoine du Hameau-de-Way’s Mills

La municipalité a adopté un règlement préservant le caractère patrimonial du hameau de Way’s Mills, soit le Règlement numéro 216 – Règlement constituant le site du patrimoine du Hameau-de-Way’s Mills.  

Voir le règlement Voir la carte


Guide pratique de rénovation de bâtiments résidentiels anciens

Ce guide préparé par des spécialistes a été conçu pour vous aider, en particulier si vous voulez intervenir sur un bâtiment résidentiel ancien. Le guide vous permettra d’identifier les principaux éléments d’architecture traditionnelle qu’on trouve sur votre bâtiment. Vous y trouverez également des conseils quant aux techniques et pratiques qu’il est souhaitable de respecter lors de rénovation, d’ajout d’éléments ornementaux ou encore d’agrandissement. Le guide est constitué de 12 fiches qui abordent des questions comme le choix d’un revêtement, le changement de portes et de fenêtres, les travaux de toitures et les agrandissements. On ira même jusqu’à vous suggérer des choix de couleurs. 

Voir le guide


Guide des bonnes pratiques en patrimoine agricole

Ce guide s’attarde exclusivement aux bâtiments agricoles, leur forme, leur localisation et leur usage. Ce sont très souvent des exemples que vous aurez reconnus au hasard de vos promenades sur nos routes et nos chemins. Encore une fois, on vous invite à consulter les 12 fiches-conseil qui débordent de conseils sur le choix de toitures, les matériaux de revêtements, la rénovation des campaniles ou encore des silos.

Voir le guide


Licence pour chien  

Si vous avez un ou des chiens, la licence est obligatoire et renouvelable annuellement. Mais ATTENTION ! C’est de la responsabilité de chaque citoyen d’en informer le bureau municipal. Vous devez le faire, d’abord pour aviser de la présence de votre ou vos chiens, puis, en cours d’année, s’il y a des modifications.
Une licence pour un chien coûte 10$. Une fois votre chien inscrit, le coût de la licence sera facturé sur votre compte de taxes municipales, et ce annuellement.

Le règlement numéro 163 concernant les animaux contient des règles à suivre concernant les chiens.

Règlement - Animaux


Feu à ciel ouvert

Sur tout le territoire de la municipalité, vous devez détenir un permis avant d’allumer un feu à ciel ouvert sur votre terrain. Le permis est émis gratuitement par l’inspecteur municipal. Ce dernier est en contact étroit avec le Service des Incendies et il est familier avec les directives de la Société de Protection contre les Incendies de Forêt (SOPFEU).

L’obtention ou non de votre permis de feu à ciel ouvert pourrait avoir des incidences importantes quant à l’établissement de votre responsabilité advenant un incendie non contrôlé.

Veuillez contacter l’inspecteur municipal, Claude Lachapelle, pour obtenir le permis. L’inspecteur municipal peut être rejoint en contactant la réception du bureau municipal (819 838 4334) ou directement au numéro 819 578-6171.


Règlement de nuisance

Le règlement numéro 208 a été adopté pour assurer la paix, l'ordre, le bien-être général et améliorer la qualité de vie des citoyens de la Municipalité de Barnston-Ouest.

Règlement - Nuisance


Recommandations du service des incendies

Veuillez noter, qu’en tout temps l’entrée de votre résidence (permanente ou d’été) doit être dégagée sur une largeur et hauteur de 3.6 mètres (12 pieds) minimum, et ceci afin de répondre aux exigences du service des incendies. De plus, aucune barrière ou clôture ne doit obstruer le  passage si ces derniers doivent se rendre sur les lieux.

911


Arbres en bordure des chemins municipaux

Sur tout le territoire de la municipalité, vous êtes responsables de vérifier la santé des arbres en bordure des chemins et d’effectuer les travaux qui s’imposent. De plus si vous êtes propriétaire dans la zone du site du patrimoine du Hameau-de-Way’s Mills et que vous désirez couper un arbre, vous DEVEZ en informer l’officier municipal en bâtiment et environnement avant de faire l’intervention.

Zone patrimoniale