Hamlet of Way’s Mills

Algonquins seem to have trod the soil of Barnston Township between 1300 and 1680. Abenaki followed, then loyalists and Irish immigrants arrived while the French-speaking wave began with the railroad boom around 1850. Today, residents live in the hamlets of Way's Mills and Kingscroft which have formed Barnston-Ouest since 1946. An American manufacturer of tweeds and flannels, L. S. Way, who arrived around 1808, gave his name to the village that crosses the Niger River and is visible along Holmes Road.

Woolen mills in  Way's Mills

The transformation of wool as a development engine

The hamlet of Way's Mills enjoyed recognition in the second half of the nineteenth century, for its wool-processing business. It was then the only place of transformation in the two townships of Barford and Barnston. Wool fabrics thus experienced significant development.

Culture establishes itself in Way's Mills

Over the years the economic development around the wool gave way to a cultural evolution. The sculptor Orson Wheeler, a native of Way’s Mills, is the first renowned artist to establish his studio there. In the years 1960-1970, many artists came to live in Way’s Mills. Of these, Stanley Rozynski and Wanda Rozynska transformed the old school into a place of creation, which is known today as the Rozynski Arts Centre. Moreover, internationally renowned artists Morton Rosengarten, Louis Dudek, François Dallegret, Satoshi Saito and Louise Doucet, Holly King and Don Corman, to name a few among others, were also part of the community.

Hameau-de-Way's Mills heritage site

The hamlet is located in a heritage zone, recognized under the Cultural Heritage Act. The protected territory is registered in the Urban Plan of the Municipality and the Planning Scheme and Sustainable Development Plan of the Coaticook MRC. Municipal regulations protect the volumetry and layout of buildings while certain types of coverings are prohibited. Also, openings and materials for windows for both new constructions and renovations are under regulations. By-laws also apply to the felling of trees and the choice of colours for the building envelope.

Characterization study of the hamlet of Way's Mills

In 2015, the Municipality, with the support of the Coaticook MRC, commissioned the firm Patri-Arch to carry out an architectural and landscape characterization study of the hamlet of Way's Mills. The latter highlights the history of the development of the hamlet, but also the main physical and identity characteristics of the village.

View the document (French document)

 

The Municipal office

Mr. George Sheard had the civic building built around 1939 at the request of his wife, Marjorie Sheard, for the village children who belonged to Scout and Girl Guide troops. Mrs. Sheard was responsible for Guides in the Eastern Townships region and was very active with the children of Way's Mills. The building was named "The Scout and Guide Hut." Subsequently, the premises served for the Municipal Council meetings until the Community Centre conducted renovations in August 1996. In 2000, the town transformed it into a Municipal office.

Bureau municipal de Barnston-Ouest

Way’s Mills

A charming hamlet named in honour of Daniel Way, a pioneer who built a wool mill on the Niger River in 1841, where the village stands today. Among other things, you can discover an old fire hall, a Community Centre and two churches. A hamlet to discover!

Hameau de Way's Mills

Daniel Way (1794-1875)

In the nineteenth century, three mills established on the banks of the Niger River profoundly marked the development of the hamlet of Way's Mills. It is, in fact, Daniel Way, owner of a carding mill and a wool fabric factory, who gave his name to this rural place where we find today two churches that deserve the detour.

Mr. Way first settled in the Township of Stanstead in 1817 and moved to the shores of the Niger River in 1843. Gifted with a remarkable sense of business, he quickly acquired the land that allowed him to actively participate, with his family members, in the economic development of Way's Mills.

To learn more about the history of Daniel Way, we invite you to read Anne Leydet's column, Resident of Way's Mills, or to visit the site on the a Pioneer Trail that pays tribute to him.

THE WAY WE WERE

Hameau de Way’s Mills

Il semble que des Algonquins aient foulé le sol du canton de Barnston entre 1300 et 1680. Des Abénaquis viennent ensuite, puis des Loyalistes et des Irlandais, alors que la vague francophone commence avec l’essor du chemin de fer vers 1850. Aujourd’hui, les résidants habitent les hameaux de Way’s Mills et Kingscroft qui forment Barnston-Ouest depuis 1946. Un fabricant américain de tweed et de flanelle, L. S. Way, arrivé vers 1808, laisse son nom au village que traverse la rivière Niger et qu’on entrevoit le long du chemin Holmes.

Moulin de laine Way's Mills

La transformation de la laine comme moteur de développement

Le hameau de Way’s Mills fut reconnu, à compter de la seconde moitié du X1Xe siècle, pour son activité de transformation de laine. C’était alors le seul lieu de transformation dans les deux cantons de Barford et de Barnston. Les tissus de laine connurent ainsi un développement important.

La culture s’établit à Way’s Mills

Au fil des ans le développement économique autour de la laine laisse la place au développement culturel… Le sculpteur Orson Wheeler, natif de Way’s Mills, est le premier artiste de renom à y établir son atelier. Dans les 1960-1970, de nombreux artistes viennent s’établir à Way’s Mills. De ceux-là, Stanley Rozynski et Wanda Rozynska qui transforme l’ancienne école en lieu de création, aujourd’hui le Centre d’arts Rozynski. Se greffe au couple, les artistes de renommée internationale tels que Morton Rosengarten, Louis Dudek, François Dallegret, Satoshi Saito et Louise Doucet, Holly King et Don Corman, pour ne nommer que ceux-là.

Site patrimonial du Hameau-de-Way’s Mills

Le hameau est situé dans une zone patrimoniale, reconnue en vertu de la Loi sur le Patrimoine culturel. Le territoire protégé est inscrit au plan d’urbanisme de la municipalité et au Schéma d’aménagement et de développement durable de la MRC de Coaticook. La réglementation municipale protège la volumétrie et l’implantation des bâtiments alors que certains types de revêtement sont prohibés. Par ailleurs, les ouvertures et les matériaux pour les fenêtres tant pour les constructions neuves que pour les rénovations sont contrôlés. Il en est de même pour l’abattage des arbres et le choix des couleurs de l’enveloppe du bâtiment.

Étude de caractérisation du hameau de Way’s Mills

En 2015, la municipalité, avec l’appui de la MRC de Coaticook, mandate la firme Patri-Arch afin de réaliser une étude de caractérisation architecturale et paysagère du hameau de Way’s Mills. Celle-ci met en lumière l’histoire du développement du hameau, mais également les principales caractéristiques physiques et identitaires de ce dernier.

Consulter le document

 

Le bureau municipal

M. George Sheard a fait construire le bâtiment civique vers 1939 à la demande de sa femme, Marjorie Sheard, pour les enfants scouts et guides du village. Elle s’occupait des guides pour la Région des Cantons de l’Est et était très active auprès des enfants de Way’s Mills. Le bâtiment portait le nom de « The Scout and Guide Hut ». Par la suite, le local a servi pour les réunions du conseil municipal jusqu'à ce que le Centre Communautaire soit rénové en août 1996. En 2000, il fût transformé en bureau municipal.

Bureau municipal de Barnston-Ouest

Way’s Mills

Un charmant hameau baptisé en l’honneur de Daniel Way, un pionnier qui a construit un moulin à laine sur la rivière Niger en 1841, là où se dresse le village aujourd’hui. Vous pouvez, entre autres, y découvrir une ancienne caserne incendie, un Centre Communautaire et deux églises. Un hameau à découvrir !

Hameau de Way's Mills

Daniel Way (1794-1875)

Au 19ième siècle, trois moulins établis sur les bords de la rivière Niger marquèrent profondément le développement du hameau de Way's Mills. C'est d'ailleurs Daniel Way, propriétaire d'un moulin à carder et d'une fabrique de tissu de laine, qui donna son nom à ce lieu bucolique où l'on retrouve aujourd'hui deux églises qui méritent le détour.

D'abord installé dans le canton de Stanstead en 1817, monsieur Way déménage sur les rives de la Niger en 1843. Doué d'un remarquable sens des affaires, il fit rapidement l'acquisition des terrains qui lui permirent de participer activement, avec les membres de sa famille, à l'essor économique de Way's Mills.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire de Daniel Way, nous vous invitons à consulter la chronique d’Anne Leydet, résidante de Way’s Mills ou de vous arrêter au personnage de Daniel Way sur la route de la Voie des pionniers.

La petite histoire des Way