Onès-Cloutier Trail

The grassed and marked trail located at the northern entrance of the hamlet of Way's Mills is 1.1 km long. It crosses a meadow and a small forest and for a part of the path, runs along the Niger River.

General information

The trail is available free of charge from Way's Mills or Holmes Road all year round.

Open to hikers, cyclists and snowshoers exclusively.

Some parking spaces are available.

Dogs are only allowed if on a leash.

A bit of history

Older people may remember that until 1969, the road to Way's Mills ran along the Niger River between the hamlet's exit and the bridge on Holmes Road. But sharing the edge of the River had its constraints, especially during the spring thaw. The Quebec Department of transport owner of all highways at the time began to modify the route of Way's Mills.

In 1972, the Department provided the Municipality of Barnston-Ouest with a 1.1 kilometre stretch between the hamlet exit and Holmes Road. The road remained open to automobile traffic during the summer period and to snowmobiles during the winter between 1972 and 1979. The old way was permanently closed to vehicles and became a trail for hiking and biking in 1979.

The inauguration of the landscaped trail took place on September 17, 1995. To commemorate the work of the former Mayor of Barnston-Ouest in carrying out this project, the town named the trail in his honour.

Who is Onès Cloutier?

Born in Stanstead-Est on January 14, 1919, he married Cécile Martin in 1940. The period of the second world war offered several employment opportunities. After their marriage, the couple moved to Sorel where Mr. Cloutier found work at the shipyard. The Cloutier family returned to Way's Mills in 1944 and settled on Standish Road.

Mr. Onès Cloutier contributed to local political life and became Mayor of the Municipality of Barnston-Ouest from 1965 to 1975.

Mr. Cloutier died on July 25, 1984.

Sentier Onès-Cloutier

Situé à l’entrée nord du hameau de Way’s Mills, le sentier gazonné et balisé est long de 1.1 km. Il traverse une prairie ainsi qu’un petit boisé et sur une partie du trajet, longe la rivière Niger.

Information générale

Le sentier est accessible gratuitement à partir des chemin Way’s Mills ou Holmes toute l’année.

Seuls les randonneurs, les cyclistes et les raquetteurs sont admis.

Quelques espaces de stationnement sont disponibles.

Les chiens sont acceptés s’ils sont tenus en laisse.

Un peu d’histoire

Les plus vieux se souviendront peut-être que jusqu’en 1969, le chemin de Way’s Mills longeait la rivière Niger entre la sortie du hameau et le pont situé sur le chemin Holmes. Mais partager les abords de la rivière avait ses contraintes, en particulier lors du dégel printanier. Le ministère des Transports du Québec, alors propriétaire de toutes les voies publiques, entreprend de modifier le tracé du chemin de Way’s Mills.

En 1972, le Ministère remet à la Municipalité de Barnston-Ouest un tronçon de 1.1 kilomètre entre la sortie du hameau et le chemin Holmes. Entre 1972 et 1979, le chemin est gardé ouvert à la circulation automobile durant la période estivale et aux motoneiges durant l’hiver. En 1979, le vieux chemin est définitivement fermé aux véhicules et devient un sentier pour la randonnée pédestre et le vélo.

Le sentier est aménagé et l’inauguration a lieu le 17 septembre 1995. Pour souligner le travail de l’ancien maire de Barnston-Ouest dans la réalisation de ce projet, on nomme le sentier en son honneur.

Qui est Onès Cloutier ?

Né à Stanstead-Est le 14 janvier 1919, il épouse Cécile Martin en 1940. La période de la deuxième guerre mondiale offre plusieurs opportunités d’emploi. Après leur mariage, le couple part s’installer à Sorel où Monsieur Cloutier trouve du travail au chantier maritime. La famille Cloutier est de retour à Way’s Mills en 1944 et s’installe sur le chemin Standish.

Monsieur Onès Cloutier contribuera à la vie politique locale et sera maire de la Municipalité de Barnston-Ouest de1965 à 1975.

Monsieur Cloutier décède le 25 juillet 1984.