Residual Materials Management

Schedule of various types of waste collection

The collection calendar is transmitted each year to all citizens.

Collection schedule (French document)

The Municipality encourages sorting at the source and offers its citizens a 4-way selection to contribute to the collective effort for better management of residual materials on our territory. The four ways are i) compostable materials, ii) recyclables, iii) domestic waste and iv) agricultural plastics.

Also, the Inter-municipal Solid Waste Management Board in the Coaticook region organizes a household hazardous waste (HHW) collection annually.

Proper management of our residual materials and what ends up in our bins, is an excellent way to maintain a quality environment.

To help you sort, here are some practical tools:


Eco-Centre

The Inter-municipal Solid Waste Management Board of the Coaticook region offers individuals and businesses a variety of services including an Eco-Centre which receives large scrap, dry materials and metals. Thus, to avoid the burial of construction, renovation and demolition materials, the Régie has set up a transshipment Wharf. The Régie will then ensure either to manage the materials on-site or to route them to the appropriate sorting centres where they can be recycled and valued.

Address: 1095 Chemin Bilodeau, Coaticook Québec) J1A 2S4
Telephone : 819 849-9479

For more information and to know the pricing and schedule, visit the Régie’s website.

www.enfouissementcoaticook.com


Ressourcerie des frontières

To reduce burial and to enhance the reuse of certain materials, the Municipality of Barnston-Ouest has reached an agreement with the Ressourcerie des Frontières. The Recovery Centre specializes in the recovery and reuse of used products. Before throwing away your “old things,” remember the Recovery Centre and use their depository and collection services.

For more information, visit the website of the Ressourcerie des Frontières.

www.ressourceriedesfrontieres.com


Eco-painting

A recycling bin for unwanted paint is supplied by the Municipality. The recovery bin is located in front of the Municipal office and is accessible at all times.


Recuperation of dry batteries, ink cartridges and compact fluorescent lamps

The Municipality also provides its citizens with boxes designed for the recovery of dry batteries, ink cartridges and small fluorescent light bulbs. The containers are accessible at the Municipal office during office hours.


Emptying septic tanks

Since 2017, the Municipality participates in the septic sludge drainage and recovery program, administered by the Coaticook MRC.
Under the By-law on the evacuation and treatment of wastewater from isolated residences, permanent homes, shops and industries have to empty their septic installations every two years. Secondary homes, which are occupied less than 180 days a year, only have to drain their septic facilities after four years. For more information, visit the website of the Coaticook MRC.

Gestion des matières résiduelles

Calendrier des divers types de collecte des matières résiduelles

Le calendrier de la collecte est transmis, chaque année, à tous les citoyens.

Calendrier des collectes

La municipalité encourage le tri à la source et offre à ses citoyens une collecte à 4 voies permettant de contribuer à l’effort collectif pour une meilleure gestion des matières résiduelles sur notre territoire. Les 4 voies sont : i) les matières compostables; ii) les matières recyclables, iii) les déchets domestiques et iv) les plastiques agricoles.

De plus, une collecte des résidus domestiques dangereux (RDD) est organisée annuellement par la Régie intermunicipale de gestion des déchets solides de la région de Coaticook.

Une bonne gestion de nos matières résiduelles et de ce qui aboutit dans nos bacs, est une bonne façon de maintenir un environnement de qualité.

Pour vous aider dans votre tri, voici quelques outils pratiques :


Écocentre

La Régie intermunicipale de gestion des déchets solides de la région de Coaticook offre aux particuliers et aux entreprises divers services dont un écocentre pour recevoir les gros rebuts, les matériaux secs et les métaux. Ainsi afin d’éviter l’enfouissement des matériaux de construction, de rénovation et de démolition, la Régie a mis en place un quai de transbordement. La Régie s’assurera alors soit de gérer les matières sur place, soit de les acheminer vers les centres de tri appropriés où ils pourront être recyclés et valorisés.

Adresse : 1095, chemin Bilodeau, Coaticook Québec) J1A 2S4
Téléphone : 819 849-9479

Pour plus d’information et pour connaître la tarification et l’horaire, consultez le site Internet de la Régie.

www.enfouissementcoaticook.com


Ressourcerie des frontières

Dans un effort pour réduire l’enfouissement et pour valoriser certaines matières, la municipalité de Barnston-Ouest a conclu une entente avec la Ressourcerie des frontières. La Ressourcerie se spécialise dans la récupération et la réutilisation des produits usagés. Avant de jeter vos « vieilles affaires », pensez à la Ressourcerie des frontières et utilisez leurs services de dépôt et de collecte.
Pour plus d’information, consultez le site Internet de la Ressourcerie des frontières.

www.ressourceriedesfrontieres.com


Éco-peinture

La municipalité met à la disposition de tous ses citoyens un bac de récupération pour la peinture. Le bac de récupération est situé face au bureau municipal et il est accessible en tout temps.


Récupération des piles sèches, des cartouches d’encre et des lampes fluocompactes

Bon à savoir : La municipalité met également à la disposition de ses citoyens des boîtes conçues pour la récupération des piles sèches, des cartouches d’encre et des lampes fluocompactes. Disponible au bureau municipal, on ne peut y accéder qu’aux heures d’ouverture du bureau.


Vidange des fosses septiques

Depuis 2017, la municipalité participe au programme de vidange et de récupération des boues de fosses septiques, administré par la MRC de Coaticook.
Conformément au Règlement sur l’évacuation et le traitement des eaux usées des résidences isolées les installations septiques des résidences permanentes, des commerces et des industries devront être vidangées à tous les deux ans. Quant aux résidences secondaires, occupées moins de 180 jours par année, leurs installations septiques ne seront vidangées qu’aux quatre ans.
Pour plus d’information, consultez le site Internet de la MRC de Coaticook.